Faith

Heal Yourself through Writing

 

Years ago – I think it was 3 years ago, 2 of my friends encouraged me to write..One of them told me to start a blog. I told her I can’t as I am stressed. She told me the world’s greatest songwriters have used their pain as a basis for writing their songs.

The other friend told me I should start writing a diary. Around the same time I read in Psychologies magazine (which is a great and superb magazine by the way), about how a lady used writing to heal herself from what she was going through.

Writing therapy (expressive writing) involves writing as a form of therapy. Of course, this should be accompanied by healthy eating, hygiene, exercise and sleeping well.

I wish I had listened to those friends and Psychologies , and I wish I had started writing back in 2011.

Well, better late than never. Last year, I downloaded an App in my phone. It’s called EasyNote. You can use this App for checklists and notes. And you can also protect this App by password. So, even if someone has your phone, they cannot enter into EasyNote without your password.

This year, I found a website online – Penzu. It is an online diary. I checked around online. Penzu has a good reputation and is considered safe. So far, I haven’t encountered any problems.

Today, just a few minutes ago, I signed into Penzu, and I read a couple of my previous entries. It confirmed what God has been telling me.

I wish I had started writing a journal years ago. It would have saved me a whole lot of trouble. For one thing, I am the kind of girl who trusts everyone’s opinions and judgments but my own. And this kind of second-guessing took me away from God’s perfect will and landed me in a puddle of trouble, so many times.

Earlier when I was reading through my journal, I realized that had I sought God for myself and waited on him for my answers, rather than doing trial-and-error solutions which other “well-meaning” friends and people offered, I could have saved myself a lot of heartache. This is because God always gives YOU the most information, guidance, and direction (if you seek Him) about your life more than anybody else. So, learn to trust yourself.

In You Tube, Listen to:

Terri Savelle Foy  – “Journaling Your Time With The Holy Spirit.”

Joel Osteen- “You Have Inside Information” & “Are You Listening”.

Joyce Meyer- “Make Your Own Decisions”.

TD JAKES- “The Holy Spirit – Your CIA Agent”.

And cultivate the habit of daily writing (I am not talking about writing for your blog), writing in a private journal/diary – something for your eyes alone. This will ensure that you make wise decisions.

There are many physical and emotional health benefits of expressive writing. Google them, lol. 😀

Isaiah 30.20: Although the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, your teachers will be hidden no more; with your own eyes you will see them.

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

